Get our Monthly Newsletter!

Shingo Academy

Membership in the Shingo Academy is an honor bestowed upon individuals who have distinguished themselves in careers of operational excellence. Members of the Academy enrich the events of the Shingo Institute by attending and by providing contacts for speakers, site tours, research, and advice. Think of the Shingo Academy as the Lean Hall of Fame.

New members are inducted into the Shingo Academy each year. To nominate an individual to the Shingo Academy, please complete the following form and send it to Ken Snyder,, Executive Director of the Shingo Institute.

Member Position Company
James F. Albaugh Executive Vice President of Supply Chain The Boeing Company
Joji Arai Secretary General International Productivity Service
Stan A. Askren Chairman, President & CEO HNI Corporation
Mark Baker President and CEO Plymouth Tube Company
J.T. Battenberg Chairman & CEO Delphi Corporation
Warren L. Batts Former Chairman & CEO Premark
Norm Bodek President Productivity, Inc.
Guy D. Briggs Vice President General Motors
Gifford Brown Plant Manager Ford Motor Company
Vernon M. Buehler Professor Emeritus Utah State University
Jerry Bussell President Bussell Lean Associates LLC
Timothy Costello Chairman & CEO Builder Homesite, Inc.
H. Lawrence Culp President & CEO Danaher Corporation
Jean Cunningham Founder and President Jean Cunningham Consulting
Michael DaPrile Executive Vice President SW Manufacturing, Inc.
Earnest W. Davenport Jr. Former Chairman Eastman Chemical
Joseph C. Day President & CEO Freudenberg-NOK
Mark DeLuzio President & CEO Lean Horizons Consulting, LLC
Drew Dillon Founder Andrew Dillon and Associates
Andy Eichfeld Chief Human Resources & Administrative Officer Discover Financial
Frank J. Ewasyshyn Executive Vice President of Manufacturing Daimler Chrysler
Louise L. Francesconi President Raytheon Missile Systems
Eliyahu M. Goldratt Founder Goldratt Institute
Andrew M. Guarriello Former Vice President & CEO AT&T Microelectronics Power Systems
Bruce Hamilton President GBMP
Thomas G. Hartman Executive Coach Catalysis
Masaaki Imai Chairman Kaizen Institute of Japan
Jerry J. Jasinowski President National Assoc. of Manufacturers
Brian S. Jones President & CEO Nypro Inc.
Daniel T. Jones Founder & Chairman Lean Enterprise Academy
Michael Joyce Senior VP, Operations and Program Management Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
James H. Keyes Chairman & CEO Johnson Controls Inc.
George Koenigsaecker President Lean Investments, LLC
Ken Kreafle Lean Senior Advisor University of Kentucky Lean Systems Program
Peter Lawson Vice President of Mfg Ford Motor Company-Australia
Hank Lenox Director, Ford Production System Ford Motor Company
David J. Logozzo President, LE Partners Lean Enterprise Institute
Mike Martyn Founder SISU Consulting Group
Jack Michaels Chairman, President & CEO Snap-On Inc.
Robert Miller Founder Arches Leadership LLC
R. David Nelson Chairman Quality Analytics Inc.
Rodney O'Neal President & COO Delphi Corporation
Paul O'Neill Former Chairman & CEO Alcoa Inc.
Hajime Ohba Vice President & General Manager Toyota Motor Manufacturing, N.A.
James J. Padilla Chief Operations Officer Ford Motor Company
Dennis K. Pawley President & CEO Pawley Enterprises
Gary Peterson EVP, Supply Chain & Production OC Tanner
Cliff Ransom II President & CEO Ransom Research, Inc.
Ross Robson President DnR Lean LLC
Donald L. Runkle Forme Vice President, Enterprise Technologies Delphi Corporation
Russell Scaffede Owner Lean Manufacturing Systems Group
Richard Schonberger Independent Researcher and Author Schonberger & Associates, Inc.
Anand Sharma President TBM Consulting Group, Inc.
Ritsuo Shingo President Institute of Management Improvement
John Shook President & CEO Lean Enterprise Institute
Harold M. Simons Retired Executive Vice President of Manufacturing O.C. Tanner Company
Art Smalley President Art of Lean, Inc.
Mohsen Sohi President & CEO Freudenberg-NOK
James L. Solberg Executive Director of Manufacturing Ford Motor Company-Powertrain
Anne Stevens Chairman and Principal SA IT Services
Carl G. Thor President JarrettThor International
John Toussaint Chief Executive Officer Catalysis
Robert H. Transon Vice President, Manufacturing, Executive Office Ford Motor Company
Nikolas Vande Steeg President & COO Parker Hannifin Corporation
Gerard Vittecoq Former President Caterpillar Inc.
Alejandro von Rossum, Sr. CEO - Chemical Division Cydsa Corporativo S.A. de C.V.
Michael J. Ward President Autoliv
Donald J. Wetekam Deputy Chief of Staff/Logistics US Air Force
David Wohleen President - Electrical, Electronics, Safety & Interior Sector Delphi Corporation
James Womack Founder & President Lean Enterprise Institute